The Silent Patient - Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient

By Alex Michaelides

  • Release Date: 2019-02-05
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 4,297 Ratings

Description

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller

"An unforgettable—and Hollywood-bound—new thriller... A mix of Hitchcockian suspense, Agatha Christie plotting, and Greek tragedy."
Entertainment Weekly

The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller of a woman’s act of violence against her husband—and of the therapist obsessed with uncovering her motive.

Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never speaks another word.

Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets, and she, the silent patient, is hidden away from the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure forensic unit in North London.

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him....

Reviews

  • Absolutely loved it !

    4
    By Mockingjay warrior 😏😏😏
    Absolutely loved the book . Dedication and curiosity led me to finishing this book within a day! and I was not disappointed with how everything tied together, from the very beginning I was trying to uncover the mystery behind her motivation but to no avail it didn’t click until the very last second , although the book tied together quite nicely I wish her reasonings would’ve been more complex however I could understand why she did what she did.
  • The Silent Patient

    5
    By KristenHRN
    Kept my attention as I’m not a reader but thoroughly enjoyed it!
  • Interest grabber

    5
    By Amaroo900
    Love it! Wish there was more to the ending, but overall it was a wonderful read.
  • Beach Readers Rejoice

    4
    By RoseMurphy
    This book is fun, super fast-paced, and easy to read. It’s exactly what most of us want in a page turning summer read. Fans of “Gone Girl” and “Girl on the Train” will thoroughly enjoy this suspenseful and twisty tale with its tormented protagonist and plenty of other psychologically crippled characters.
  • 10 out of 10

    5
    By stef and cam
    I was not expecting the ending!!
  • WOW!!

    5
    By Brunetta4u
    Could not put this down! Very well written! The events just flowed until it all swirled together for the big plot twist shocker at the end.
  • Wow

    5
    By CpagittLee
    Never saw that ending coming!
  • Horrible

    1
    By deckelb
    I do not understand the glowing reviews this book has received. I forced myself to finish, thinking there must be some justification, but never could get truly interested. Weird characters and too much tedious, unnecessary detail throughout.
  • Thrilling page turner

    5
    By Xan.dra
    I could not get enough of this book! It was one of those fighting-sleep-to-keep-turning-the-next-page kind of books. And somehow you were bound to find yet another twist in the plot the further you went on. Looking forward to more titles by this author.
  • A must read

    5
    By juliofem
    I read a lot of crime thriller novels, and this is the most interesting one I’ve read in years. I kept predicting outcomes only to be shocked by a plot twist or revelation. I love that the story expands into a satisfying ending, most books leave a vague cliffhanger, but The silent patient summed up important storylines while leaving some things to the imagination. Such a clever and enthralling story.