The German Girl - Armando Lucas Correa

The German Girl

By Armando Lucas Correa

  • Release Date: 2016-10-18
  • Genre: Historical
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 430 Ratings

Description

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and We Were the Lucky Ones.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.

Reviews

  • Good

    4
    By R2bbarnes
    Kept my interest; new angle than most stories of this subject
  • Great novel!

    5
    By Fluffs101
    Once you pick up this book you’ll not put it back down! Great reading. Great novel.
  • The German Girl

    5
    By Rebecca against hatred
    Beautifully written. It was difficult to finish due to tears. Rarely has a book touch me so deeply. I am a Resister and despair of the hatred that is happening in America. Has "Never again" been forgotten?
  • The German girl

    5
    By Noisywife
    Heartbroken,angry' This novel touched my soul. I knew very little about The Ship and I'm glad to have a full understanding of that horrific crime committed by the most compassionate country in the world the good old USA